Skip to content

The Marathon Is Coming! The Marathon Is Coming!

October 7, 2009


I don’t like the marathon countdown on the Chicago Marathon website. It scares me. It looks like the vicious end is approaching, not the beginning of a party. It is a rude reminder that time is always on the move, never resting. I don’t like this concept at all. For me, time stops sometimes. Sometimes it just slows down. Some miles are shorter than others. Time will stop for me on Sunday when I see my people waiting on the side of the road — the little short guy sitting on the shoulders of the big tall guy, and the other guy standing next to them, proudly wearing his “Future Runner” t-shirt.





Art: Echo Countdown, by Martino Pelupessy, available under Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative license

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

