Skip to content

The Second Time Was The First Time I Did It Again

October 12, 2009


My second marathon was a cold one. I was able to warm up my muscles and stop shaking after a short run, but there was nothing I could do about the freezing air that went into my throat. It wasn’t a problem yesterday. It only started to ache the next day, about twelve hours into my recovery, after my knees began to function again. The second marathon was a first time for many things. My son was beside himself. He couldn’t wait to meet me at Mile 8 to tell me about the tooth he lost that morning — after I had left. What a thrill!





Art: To The Moon, by Nathan Walker, available under Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative license

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

