Skip to content

A Big House In The Suburbs

October 28, 2009


The Ricketts deal closed yesterday. The Cubs are no longer owned by the Tribune, they now belong to the Ricketts family of Wilmette. This is like moving from a dingy downtown apartment to a big house in the suburbs. The good life. I imagine living in the suburbs and having a limousine driver who takes me downtown to the lakefront trail for my morning jog. Then he would drive me to Starbucks to say hello to my Armenian taxi-driver friends. My chauffeur would step outside to get me a copy of the RedEye while I sat behind tinted windows and freshened up my deodorant. In the afternoon, we would go in the limo to the carpool to pick up my son from school. I would have eight booster seats in the back for his friends and a snack bar. We would buckle up and watch a movie and later have an octuple playdate back at the house. My cook would fix me split pea soup on demand. And my gardener would clean up the weeds around the fence. This is so nice. The Cubs would love it there!



— I dedicate this piece to the Shannons, my Wilmette connection.



Ricketts family closed on deal for Chicago Cubs, Chicago Tribune, October 28, 2009





Art: My Insignia, by Franklyn Francis, available under Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative license

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 4:14 AM

    Those lucky ducks. I wouldn’t mind being in their shoes. Of course with great power comes great… umm yeah.

  2. October 30, 2009 6:27 PM

    Hello California… I like your “frequent travel program”. Should have been good for my research…

Leave a Reply

