Skip to content

I’d Rather Be Running

October 31, 2009


The last four miles are the hardest. Even on days when I only run four miles. Then I usually think about things that I hate doing, like shopping, and I figure that I’d rather be running. I mostly shop online, but sometimes I need the instant gratification that comes with retail. Like when I go to the store in my pajamas to buy milk, or when I drive to the other side of town to get a Derrick Rose jersey four hours before the game. I don’t like to go shopping. For me, it falls in the same category as making a dentist appointment, sitting in an airplane, or attending a kids’ birthday party. I don’t like to deal with a sales person who doesn’t really want to help me. Or smile at a postal worker out of fear that, if I didn’t, she would ship my package to Abu-Dhabi instead. When I’m running the last four miles, I think about that. Someone needs to invent a magic SHOT Blok, a wormhole, that could yank me through the process and get me to the finish. Where I pull my new clothes out of the shopping bag and put them in the closet. Where I know that my package is on its way to my friend and I picture the look on her face as she opens it. Where I open a cold bottle of cranberry water and gulp it in faster than light speed.





Art: Store Concept, by Barrett Brown, available under Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative license

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

