Skip to content

On Your Mark, Get Set, Freak!

March 19, 2010


I am freaking out here. I signed up to run the Chicago Marathon. This would be my third marathon, three in a row. Nothing to be afraid of, one would think. I’ve run a hot one, I’ve run a cold one — no biggie. My people think I’m some sort of expert at marathoning. A friend signed up to run a half-marathon with me. Another friend is relying on my training advice. And I am trying to hold it together for my cohorts. Commitments scare me. I make a promise to show up for a gathering early in the morning on a futuristic date, knowing that I am not a morning person. Regardless of my muscle conditioning level, some things don’t change — I am a novice. Around week six of my training, when the double-digit mileage becomes a regular event, this is when I would start to loosen up. This is when I would start making jokes about runners in layers and fuel belts. Until then I am a s#*tless cry-baby. Yesterday when I ran on the trail I saw them: I saw the marathoners passing me one by one. The race is six months away and they are already in perfect shape. Wearing their little suits, showing off their strong legs, they were pacing and smiling, while I was sweating under my three layers and wool hat. It is what it is, the city is running, the squirrels are out, the sun is shining. This is my cue: ditch the gloves and get with the program.





Art: yes © Sharon Pazner

One Comment leave one →
  1. MIchelle Glick permalink
    March 20, 2010 2:47 PM

    Your body is smart enough to know it is too early to come out of hibernation!

Leave a Reply

